Superfood snacks: review and giveaway

6 01 2012

I am so spoiled… Blogging about one of the things I feel passionate about is wonderful for many reasons: I enjoy doing this, I get to communicate my ideas, I get to know like-minded people, and I get to receive great products to review! Sometimes I am lucky enough that I get to review them and have a giveaway to share the goodness with other people, how awesome is that!?

Sunrise in Hanamaulu beach, near to Lihu'e, where Superfood Snacks is based.

One of the products I got to review over the holidays was Brazilian Chocolate Ecstasy energy nuggets by Superfood Snacks.

The Company:

Superfood Snacks is a company from Kawai’i, Hawai’i, which is like paradise on Earth, in case you didn’t know. Superfood snacks are no regular snacks, they are made with high quality raw super foods that are fairly traded, meant to give you energy! Kawai’i is a great place for adventure tourism, and this influences the spirit of the company, these nuggets are meant to load you with energy so you can keep going and enjoying the great outdoors (I wish I would have known of them when I went on my honeymoon!).

They are passionate about the environment too, and it could not be otherwise coming from the Garden Island, they are pioneers in using raw chocolate and also in generating a 100% recycled, colorful printed package that is biodegradable and compostable in about 180 days!  But wait, there’s more! Their printing methods are also super environmentally friendly!  And did I mention that 1% of their sales is destined to environmental projects? I am so impressed with them for trying so hard to do the right thing!

Can you see the colors of the sunrise in the biodegradable packaging?

My impressions:

I got a pack of Brazilian Chocolate Ecstasy. These packs bring six morsels, at 110 cal per two morsels. They are made of raw cocoa (dried in the sun, the original way!) and have agave nectar, mangoes and other tropical fruits, Brazil and other nuts, sea salt, cinnamon and vanilla powder among other awesome ingredients full of antioxidants.

These are chewy and soft, pleasantly moist and not too sweet, which is refreshing. The slightly acidic flavor reminded me of the berries and mangoes contained in the nuggets, and the small but distinctive pieces of fruit and nuts gave the morsels a nice crunch. I really liked the nice and balanced aftertaste.

My dad and my husband really liked them too! Which is great, since sometimes men and women differ in their taste for all organic, raw food 🙂 also, they are in opposite sides of the work out spectrum, my husband being a fit guy who loves to run and lift weights and my dad being happier sitting in the sofa with a good novel and a coffee. My dad only wishes that the morsels were smaller, but I didn’t mind the size,  just bit through them instead of popping them in my mouth being whole.

Brazilian Chocolate Ecstasy. Yumm!!

The giveaway:

Superfood Snacks and I want to share the goodness! And they will send two (2) bags of Brazilian Chocolate Ecstasy to a lucky winner! So, if you are a raw food lover, a vegan, or just someone who would love to try these unique snacks, head over to Facebook and enter the Rafflecopter!

Waimea Canyon. Kawai'i has everything you can dream of for the adventurous type.

... and also chickens.

Actions

Information

9 responses

7 01 2012
Christine M Tubbytelly

I would have my feet up watching my favorite shows on Hulu while the baby sleeps!

8 01 2012
Constanza

Oh, the much needed yummy snack at the end of the day! 🙂

7 01 2012
Bekah

Hey Coty! Cool post!
If I win these chocolates, I will use the extra energy they give me to devote to my son, Ben!
Hope you are doing well!! 🙂

8 01 2012
Constanza

Oh, yes. We need the energy to spend on our babies! We are doing well, I hope you too! 🙂

10 01 2012
Andrea Amy

I have 5 kids, I could use the energy. Making chocolate good for me, dream come true!

11 01 2012
Debbie Petch

I would be watching my favorite show and relax and enjoy!

11 01 2012
Arlana

I would love to be hiking in Hawaii when taking a Brazilian Ecstasy nugget to keep going, instead of shovelling snow to go to work.

14 01 2012
Angela Mitchell

A Brazilian Ecstasy Nugget would be great while hiking one the beautiful trails on Kauai, the Garden Isle!

16 01 2012
Naomi

I need these treats to help give me the energy to keep up with my little guy! I’d love to be eating one while taking my little guy to the park on a 50 degree January day!

Leave a Reply

