Buns Up Baby cloth diaper review and giveaway.

10 12 2011

I feel I must warn my readers that Buns Up Baby has vanished, me and other people cannot contact the owner or find her Facebook page. Be aware that some people placed orders but have not received them and have failed to contact Amber. I have no idea what happened and just can pray and hope that she and her family are safe, but be aware that it might not be a good idea to order diapers from her at the moment.

Guess what did my mom get me?

Hey, getting ready for Christmas and the end of the year? I am! And because I wanted to give you a gift for this season I am throwing an awesome giveaway sponsored by Amber at Buns Up Baby.

I learned about Buns Up Baby through another blog and decided to try my luck and email Amber. I was ecstatic when she accepted to send me a diaper to review and host a giveaway! She told me to head over to her webpage and choose a diaper I would like to test and basically demanded that I had fun testing it! How nice of her!

I chose a lovely Cow Patty minkee diaper for Ignacio because he is a Taurus and I thought it would be cute to see him wearing a cow print diaper πŸ™‚

Surprise!! She got me a fun Cow Patties minkee diaper by Buns Up Baby!!

The review:

Amber and Buns Up Baby:
Buns Up Baby is a new company created by Amber in March 2011. She is a Canadian mom in Ontario that was not quite satisfied with the cloth diaper options out there: pockets are either really pricey or very low quality, so she decided to get her own designs made (yes, she is that cool!). After testing her designs with a manufacturer that she liked she decided to get started with her own company. To keep her prices lower than the big companies she has her diapers made in China (she regularly makes sure that ethical work conditions and quality are met) but also takes a smaller profit per diaper sold. After all many of the big brands are made in China too, the difference is that Buns Up Baby’s goal is to keep quality diapers affordable because Amber really wants to do something to save the planet.
Amber has some great plans for the near future, there is a new diaper on the making that would have an extra row of rise snaps, bambooΒ insert,Β and have colour coded waist snaps. There would also be another row of inner gussets making it as convenient as a disposable diaper but cloth. This diaper would cost more but she promises that she is trying to make it as affordable as possible!
Because she is really cool (as I mentioned before) she gives a free diaper on large orders as a way to thank her costumers, she even includes a diaper pail liner from time to time. And if you live in Canada you can check with her to see if she is going to be on the road so you can deliver your diapers and save you the shipping!! So green and sweet of her!

The diaper:
These diapers are pocket, one size, this means that through the adjustment of snappies you can make the diaper fit the same baby from eight to 35 pounds. They have an inside of microfleece that wicks moisture away and they have an outer layer PUL coated to keep the diaper water proof. The pocket is on the back side and the diaper is stuffed with inserts made of three layers of microterry.

My impression on the diaper:
This is the first minkee diaper I ever touch, and it is so incredibly soft! Besides that… it is absolutely adorable!
I was very impressed with the quality of this diaper. When I received it I thought that it was going to be a “good diaper for $10” but the truth is that it is a good diaper. Period. Yes, there are some really good quality diapers out there for over $20, but for less than $10 you will find that these diapers are very competitive quality wise.

Neutral:
The area between the legs is broader than in other pockets, like Charlie Banana or Fuzzibuns, but this didn’t seem to bother Ignacio. He is not mobile yet, so I don’t know how this would interfere with crawling or walking, but you can see from the photos that he is comfortable and does not mind.
The pocket has no flap to cover the opening, as in Charlie Banana, but unlike other brands it has an elastic that prevents the insert from poking out. It also makes it easy to stuff because, well, it has no flap.
I cannot give an opinion about messes because Ignacio did not poop while using this diaper, besides we are past the crazy poop mess stage now that he is on solids, so I will have to leave that question unanswered πŸ™‚

The diaper is broader than others between the legs, but at the same time the adjustment for size is barely noticeable.

What could be improved:
There is one thing that I wish all CD companies did, including Buns Up Baby, and this is to label their inserts. When each insert looks almost like the other one, and you pull them put of the washing machine, it is cumbersome to try to identify them by comparing them side by side and try to remember how each of them looked… and all of them are some shade of white microterry…
The cloth of this diaper is very soft, as in lacking firmness, so the lateral wings of the diaper are a little floppy and poke out of the waist. If you tuck them behind the waist there is no problem, though, they remain there. I think this would be fixable with a different snappy configuration (says she who knows nothings of sewing!) Actually, I am kind of divided whether writing this one as a neutral, though, because that same ‘floppiness’ of the material makes the diaper hug the baby really well and conform to his body very comfortably.

Awesomeness:
The diaper is so soft! It is super soft in the outside, but most importantly, it is super soft in the inside. I do have several brands of cloth diapers at home, and this is I think the softest one yet. Apart form that, the elastic is very gentle but yet supportive, so my baby did not end up with red marks around his legs and waist, even after 12 hours, which happens to him with Fuzzibuns.
I am surprised too at how this diaper works at becoming smaller for smaller babies, while the fully expanded diaper is larger than many and the waist is high, when you adjust the snaps for the diaper to become smaller there is almost no bulk! I mean it! Just take a look at the photos and see how streamlined it becomes. In my experience with other diaper brands and systems this always has been an aesthetic problem, since the diapers end up looking like bubbles around the baby’s bum, but not these diapers, they look just awesome!
The diaper is crazy absorbent! I used it during the day with no wicking whatsoever. My baby is a heavy wetter and wicking is my bane, so I first used it for 2 hours, and when I changed the diaper I actually called my husband to come and touch the microfleece interior of the diaper. He looked at me like “yeah, right…” but when I insisted he humored me and was surprised to note how dry it felt. That means that my baby, who hates being wet, did not feel any discomfort at all!
I tried this diaper for nap time, and it held! Ignacio slept well, no leaks or wicking at all.
I then tried it for night time. I stuffed two cotton/hemp inserts into it, additional to the one that Amber sent with the diaper and it worked wonderful for almost 12 hours. It did give up after 10 hours, which is a very long time, given that Ignacio is normally soaked and wicking by 5 hours.Β  Now, before you say something like “yeah, well, but you added more inserts” let me tell you that I do this with every diaper I use for bedtime, and they do not work this well. The great thing is that it still felt dry against baby’s bum! I think that Buns Up Baby’s next diaper with gussets will probably take care of this, since the wicking did come from the legs.

These diapers are super soft and comfortable, listen to my mom!

The Giveaway:

If you are a cloth diapering mom or if you are considering to get started, this is a perfect diaper to try. You can buy these diapers from Buns Up Baby or you can win one in this giveaway! Head over to Sensibly Green on Facebook* to enter the Rafflecopter and fill your entries!

If you do buy a diaper from Amber during the time that this giveaway is running, don’t forget to tell her that you are coming from Sensibly Green, this will give you extra entries! Just write “sent by Sensibly Green” in the paypal comments/special instructions area and she will let me know!

As for me, I am planning to get me a few more diapers from her, the Giraffe print is adorable and it sells like hot cakes! So make sure to get yours as soon as you see it available!

This giveaway will run from Dec 10th to 20th 2011, after that I will verify the entries and draw a winner πŸ™‚ Do tell your friends, the more the merrier!

And now excuse me… I am going to learn some more about cows…

.

.

.

*Wordpress does not support the Rafflecopter application so I have to run it over there!

Actions

Information

63 responses

10 12 2011
Hope

Awwww! He looks so cute in that cow print! It doesn’t feel right entering without even a baby bump, but when it’s time I’ll check her out!

10 12 2011
Constanza

Please, do enter! πŸ™‚

10 12 2011
gabby croshier

ive been CDing for 5 months now, pockets are our favorites

10 12 2011
Constanza

Hi Gabby, nice to meet you! πŸ™‚

10 12 2011
Rheanna (@rhechristine)

I didn’t cloth diaper my first two, although I wish I had. I’ve been cloth diapering for about 4 weeks now! I started mainly out of curiousity. I like a good challenge. Then I realized how cheap and efficient it really was. and I wish I had looked past the people that I knew that did that were super judgmental about my use of sposies and just given it a try! so glad I did this time around. Right now i’m loving the ai2s. but quickly becoming a fan of pockets.

10 12 2011
Constanza

I am glad you did give it a try!
It is interesting that you mention people being judging about you using disposables, because I had the opposite experience! It is not like people were judging me as doing the wrong thing for the environment but I got a lot of “well, that is hard you know” kind of comments and people telling me that it was rather crazy to go the CD path! I never really felt it was too much!
Good luck in the giveaway! πŸ˜€

10 12 2011
Giveaway Promote | Buns Up Baby Cloth Diaper Giveaway | Your source for the hottest giveaways.

[…] > Visit them to enter this giveawayΒ < […]

11 12 2011
Naomi Greenberg

Been a big fan of cloth diapering since the beginning…7 months now!

11 12 2011
Constanza

πŸ˜€ Yay! Loving it, aren’t you?

11 12 2011
Vashti M

I already use cloth diapers-they rock!

12 12 2011
Constanza

They do! πŸ™‚

11 12 2011
France Irish

I’m expecting and due this february..I’m a first time mom and I would love to try CDing.. πŸ™‚

12 12 2011
Constanza

Congratulations and good luck in the rest of your pregnancy!

11 12 2011
courteney lacey

I am actually trying to stock pile diapers so that I can make the complete switch from disposables to cloth.

I am VERY VERY nervous because I know so little about it!

12 12 2011
Constanza

Do not be afraid, there are multiple resources you can use to learn about CD, this blog is one of them! πŸ™‚ It is great that you are thinking of CDing!

11 12 2011
Kristy Weir

started CD with baby #2 5 weeks ago… initially used prefolds (to start cheap!), am now replacing my stash with pockets and getting a little obscessed!

12 12 2011
Constanza

CD are so cute! I understand the obsession!

11 12 2011
Mrs. Smitty

I cloth diapered my first and now I’m cloth diapering my second! We’ve tried a little bit of everything, but the majority of our stash is pockets and fitteds/prefolds & covers.

12 12 2011
Constanza

Awesome!

11 12 2011
Veronica Sebrell

I don’t cloth diaper yet since my little one isn’t here yet, but I plan to cloth diaper him from day one!

12 12 2011
Constanza

That is great news! Good luck with your pregnancy and birthing!

12 12 2011
nicole aben

I am a new mom to CD and am eager to try out different kinds to find which works best for us.

12 12 2011
Constanza

Hi Nicole and Good luck!

13 12 2011
kim johnson

We currently cloth diaper and all of our diapers right now are pocket diapers.

14 12 2011
Constanza

Best luck getting a great pocket from Buns Up Baby!

13 12 2011
Rachel Roberts

We already cloth diaper! Love it!

14 12 2011
Constanza

That is wonderful! πŸ™‚ Good luck!

14 12 2011
Jacqui

Just starting my wait for my first little one but can’t wait to cloth diaper! Hoping to build a stash so I can start on Day 1. πŸ™‚

14 12 2011
Constanza

Oh, wow, congratulations!! I wish you best of lucks!

14 12 2011
Rachel D

I am a newbie and right now just have four pre folds and four covers. I’m working on building my stash.

14 12 2011
Constanza

You are going to love pockets! Have fun with the great colors and prints!

15 12 2011
Ashley

Thanks for the giveaway.

15 12 2011
Constanza

You are welcome, Ashley.

15 12 2011
Hannah R

I have been using cloth since my son was 8 mo. old. I love it and wish I would have switched sooner!!! Thanks for the giveaway! πŸ™‚

15 12 2011
Constanza

you are welcome! πŸ™‚

15 12 2011
Bonnie Rodriguez

i didnt cloth diaper my first and i started cloth diaoering my secon when she was 2 months and we both love it!

15 12 2011
Sara Davis

I’m 19 weeks pregnant and committed to cloth diapering. I’ve registered for pocket diapers and prefolds. I was recommended prefolds to start and then moving to pockets. My husband will be out on deployment when the baby is born, and I”m interested to see which his favorites are when he gets back (my guess is pockets).

15 12 2011
Jasmine Waltman

Hello,
I’m pregnant with my fist baby so I have never tried cloth diapers before. I like them and think it’s a great idea.

16 12 2011
Rebecca

I already CD, but have only ever used prefolds.Would love to branch out and try pocket diapers.

16 12 2011
Valeria B

My son is 6 months on the 22nd. And I will be starting to CD on Tuesday. I ordered best bottoms to try first

16 12 2011
Melissa

I’m excited to start cloth diapering when our first arrives! The cow print is so cute. πŸ™‚

16 12 2011
tubbytelly at gmail dot com

We currently cloth diaper. I am still learning how to wash them so they don’t smell and cause rashed.

16 12 2011
Kelsie Harris

I have been cloth diapering my son since he was a month old and we have exclusively cloth diapering since he was 2 months. He is now 12 months and we plan to cloth diaper any future children we are blessed with. We love pockets diapers!

17 12 2011
Susan

I’m expecting my first in January. I want to give cloth diapering a try!

17 12 2011
Olivia L

We cloth diaper, and soon we’ll be CDing #2. Love pocket diapers for their ease of use!

18 12 2011
Ashlee MacLeod Davis

I’ve been CD’ing for almost a year with my youngest and at first was CD’ing my 3yo for nap and bedtime!! We love cloth diapering at our house! At first i was addicted to buying them, but now, it’s saving us a bundle!!

18 12 2011
Julie M.

I just started CD’ing 6 weeks ago on my little guy and loving it so much!!! Thanks for the giveaway!

19 12 2011
Amy

I think this is where I am to leave my comment. Yes I already cloth diaper. I love using cloth and would never go back. My daughter is almost 2 years old and she loves her cloth! Thank you for the giveaway!

19 12 2011
Amy

Oh and I love pocket diapers! πŸ˜€

19 12 2011
sarah shult

I am new to CD, my baby is 4 weeks old and we are trying out several different types

19 12 2011
Khalilah M

I started Cd’ing with my first around 1 year and I plan to CD #2 from the beginning (another one due in Feb). Pockets are my favorite so far! Thanks for the opportunity.

19 12 2011
Jennifer Best Clay

I left a comment on facebook that I’m just getting started with cloth diapering.

19 12 2011
Terri

Thanks for the awesome giveaway! However, I wanted to warn you of some things. Having a “if you purchase from this store” entry in a giveaway is illegal in almost every country’s contest laws (hence you may see “No purchase necessary to win” in many contest terms). Also, asking people to leave a comment on a Facebook page as a contest entry is against Facebook promotion guidelines (http://www.facebook.com/promotions_guidelines.php). I do have legal education background, so in running contests especially, it is VERY important to be careful. So, not meaning to be a bugger, but I’d hate it if you got arrested or lost your FB fan page after all your hard work!

20 12 2011
Constanza

Thank you very much for the heads up! There is no purchase necessary to win the giveaway, there are many other ways of entering this contest, but I will double check on that.

19 12 2011
Breanne

I plan on cloth diapering when I have my baby.

20 12 2011
mp phaiah

i already cloth diaper and would love to try this diaper!

20 12 2011
Kathy Geen

Was intimidated by cloth diapers but curious too. Found these diapers and they are wonderful. Started with a small order and now I can’t wait for my next order. No leaks and super cute πŸ™‚

20 12 2011
Raychelle Drain

cant believe this is my 4th baby and i’m just finially cd-ing so wish i would have with my other kiddos

20 12 2011
Lisanne Gibson

I cloth diapered both my girls and am now pregnant again and looking forward to cloth diapering again πŸ™‚

12 12 2012
notafanofcd

My friends have ordered from this company…and never got their diapers! and never heard back from the lady either. her diapers/prints/styles are identical to Kawaii and Alva – both of which are made in China too…hmmm…

13 12 2012
Constanza

I am sorry about that, I’ve tried to contact Amber to no avail myself. I just hope she and her child are OK and nothing bad happened to them.

Credit where credit is due, though, she never hid that she gets her diapers from China.

29 08 2014
Ashley

I bought a used buns up baby diaper on ebay about a month ago. It’s one of the new ones you were writing about in this blog with the high rise snaps, inside gusset, and colored snaps in front but it’s not a pocket diaper but ai2 with a snap insert. I love it so i tried looking on ebay and there’s none, not even used and then I see nothing else about them except a bunch of old giveaways and reviews … Did you ever find out what happened???

31 08 2014
Constanza

I am sorry but I could not establish any communication with her. If you would like, I can send you my Buns Up cow print, which is super cute, but I don’t use it with my second son anymore. Would you want to email me to cxe1169@gmail.com?

Leave a Reply

