I got crab apples, now what?

31 08 2011

Well, why! Crab apple bread!

When I got a bag with crab apples from our CSA I was rather uncertain of their fate. Crab apples taste on the sour side (which is not a big issue to me) but mostly they are astringent like crazy, drying your mouth at once. So off I sent to search for recipes, but all of them required more crab apples that I had, so jellies, chutneys and butters were not an option. So I went for a bread instead.

crab apple bread!

You will need:

Diced crab apples. (Mine were so small that I didn’t bother to take the seeds out, but you might need to)

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 c corn oil (or canola, or soy)

2c flour

1/4 c honey

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 tbsp sour milk (see below)

Dice the crab apples and reserve.

Place two tablespoons of milk in a container and add some lemon juice. Let sit for five minutes.

In a bowl mix all the dry ingredients. Add oil, slightly beaten eggs, honey and sour milk. Once the mixture is homogeneous add the diced crab apples and incorporate in circling movements. Pour the dough in a baking container, sprinkle some sugar (optional) and bake at 350 F for one hour. If you use a deep bowl like me bake for 75 minutes.

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 08 2011
Marina

I liked your recipe a lot! I love apples but I don’t know if I can buy that type in Argentina. Have you tried making “compota de manzanas” with them? That’s what I do when I have very acid green apples. I cut them in pieces, put some sugar and cinnamon and bake them in the microwave for a few minutes. I eat them warm with a topping of cream cheese with sugar and cinnamon! Yummy!

31 08 2011
Constanza

Compota seria buenisimo, especially your recipe! But I had really few apples, so I needed them to add flavor more than to be the main dish. I am sure you can find something like them in Argentina. There used to be some trees in my great grandparents home, we called them “Manzanas ornamentales”. If you like the recipe, though, you can add any fruit you can think of to substitute the apples ๐Ÿ™‚

31 08 2011
frugalfeeding

Great recipe, looks amazing. However, how about CRAB APPLE JELLY. Yum.

31 08 2011
Constanza

Crab apple jelly sounds good! But I did not have enough apples ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

