Easy ways of pimping your meals: part 2

14 08 2009

So what about salads? How can you pimp your salad when you have only lettuce left? Well, an easy way of doing it is with a great dressing.

I never buy dressings, I dread the high fructose corn syrup and sugar that everything has here…. but let’s not get into that right now. I prepare my own. Often times it happens that I only have left lettuce or spring mix for a salad, everything else having been eaten, so I add a vinaigrette that I prepare and leave in the fridge for moments like that, and everything is good! 🙂

Emergency Vinaigrette:

Olive oil (3 parts)

Red Wine Vinegar  (1 part)

garlic cloves (2)

salt, pepper, pepper corns, coriander, oregano, rosemary, and any herb you like.

I add salt to the bottom of the flask where I’ll prepare my vinaigrette, then add 1 part of vinegar and dissolve the salt. Then add the oil, garlic cloves in halves, cracked peppercorns, coriander and herbs. Mix everything vigorously and keep in the fridge for at least one week before using it. Before dressing your salad, mix the vinaigrette, so it forms something similar to an emulsion before you spear it over the salad.

Stock image by thestalker.deviantart.com

Fresh Herbs Vinaigrette:

Olive oil (3 parts)

Vinegar  (1 part)

Fresh herbs: marjoram, lemon thyme. (or anything of similar taste)

Coarse salt.

Wash the herbs and separate the leaves from the sprigs, then place them in the bottom of the bowl in which you will prepare your vinaigrette. Add the coarse salt and with a mortar (it can be a spoon too) push the salt into the leaves so they get bruised. Then add the vinegar, mix, and add the oil. Mix vigorously. This goes really well with spring mix.

I hope you try this easy recipes. They always get me out of trouble when the fridge is starting to look empty!

And you know, if you try, let me know what you think!

**stock image provided by http://thestalker.deviantart.com**

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

