Recipes: Fresh salads

26 05 2009

Spring is here and the warm weather always makes me want to eat more salads! Salads are so good!

So today I bring you a few simple salads that are not your usual lettuce and tomato salad. Dare to try something new, they are delicious and I assure you that people will be impressed with them when you bring them to an event.

Oranges and Onions.

A salad that I refused to eat while I was a kid and I wanted to slap myself when I finally had the guts to try it. It is so

Orange and onions salad

Orange and onion salad

good and so fresh! I really like it to go with red meats.

You need oranges, I rather the smaller juicier ones, and onions. Simple, isn’t it? Make sure that you don’t overwhelm the oranges with too much onions. I usually use about 4 small oranges and 1 small onion, but that varies according to your own taste. season with salt, black pepper and a dash of olive oil.

Spinach and Strawberries.

This one is a modified recipe from a recipe that my friend Pampa gave me. It is unusual and very good.

You need baby spinach leaves and strawberries. As simple as that. Slice the strawberries, add them to the spinach and season with salt and pepper, I like a pepper medley with pink, white, black and green peppercorns and coriander. The original recipe is dressed with raspberry vinaigrette, but I used olive oil and balsamic vinegar and it worked just fine.

Romaine and grapes.

Romaine and grapes

Romaine and grapes

I am rather proud of this one because I came up with it myself  🙂 I later found some similar salads on line so I guess I am not so original but I’ll pass you my recipe.

You need romaine lettuce, green grapes, feta cheese (optional, but it goes really well) and nuts (walnuts, cashews and almonds go better). Slice the grapes in halves, toss them in the lettuce, add the nuts and then add coarse salt, pepper, juice from half a lemon and olive oil.

That is all for right now! Let me know if you try them and if you have a really cool salad you would like to share with me, please don’t hesitate in sending the recipe, I love salads!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2009
Rita Ria

Orange & Onions?
I just HAVE TO try that – sounds delicious, even I cant imagine yet 🙂

12 06 2009
faerywitch

Have you tried it yet? Did you like it?

Leave a Reply

